h1

Some Weekend Wonders

October 6, 2006

371.gif

The Mary Onettes are some Sweedish band on Labrador Records, the same label as Suburban Kids With Biblical Names. Awesome sound, kind of like The Cure or The Smiths. Complements to my brother for this find.
“Lost”—The Mary Onettes

Good Weather for Air Strikes did a profile on Jon Brion last week, but they left out my personal favorite song of his. It comes from the extremely underrated I Heart Huckabees with my all time favorite actor, Jason Schwartzman. If I could post the movie here, I would, but I can’t, so this will do.

“Knock Yourself Out” – Jon Brion

The only way I’ve been able to find Shiny Toy Gun’s CD is on amazon, and I refuse to do so. For now, I’m stuck with three songs by them, this by far the greatest. The chorus of “Don’t Cry Out,” when she starts counting down from 10… uh so great, just listen.
“Don’t Cry Out” – Shiny Toy Guns

Leave a Reply

